Ann Rose Jacob

ANN ROSE JACOB

Je suis étudiante à la maîtrise en sciences infirmières – profil d’infirmière praticienne à l’Université Dalhousie en Nouvelle-Écosse. Je compte huit ans d’expérience comme infirmière. J’ai exercé ma profession en Inde, en Nouvelle-Zélande et au Canada dans divers cadres de soins. J’ai quatre ans d’expérience en soins infirmiers gériatriques et je détiens une certification de l’Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada dans ce domaine.

Dans ma carrière d’infirmière, j’ai pris modèle sur mes parents qui se sont occupés de mes grands-parents malades. Quand j’étais enfant, je les ai vus prendre soin de mes grands-parents jusqu’à la fin de leur vie. L’exemple de mes parents a été mon inspiration pour devenir infirmière.

Tout au long de mon parcours, j’ai pu compter sur l’aide et le soutien de ma famille, de mes amis et d’excellents mentors. Je me sens privilégiée d’avoir été admise au programme de l’Université Dalhousie et de pouvoir ainsi réaliser mes rêves. J’obtiendrai ma maîtrise l’an prochain et j’aimerais continuer de travailler auprès des aînés. Je militerai en faveur d’un rôle accru des infirmières praticiennes dans les foyers de soins et dans la communauté et d’un meilleur accès à des soins de santé de qualité pour répondre à la demande grandissante de la population âgée.

Je suis fière d’être boursière de la FIIC. Je remercie la Fondation et Extendicare pour leur générosité qui me vaut de recevoir la bourse de maîtrise en gérontologie Extendicare de la FIIC.

Award Recipient

Ann Rose Jacob

Extendicare Master’s Scholarship in Gerontology

I am a Master of Nursing-Nurse practitioner student at Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia. I have 8 years of experience in nursing. I had the opportunity to practice nursing in India, New Zealand and Canada in various health care settings. I have 4 years of experience in geriatric nursing. I hold a CNA certificate in gerontology from the Canadian Nurses Association.

My nursing career has been shaped by my parents who looked after my grandparents when they were sick. They have taken care of my grandparents in such a caring way until their end of life, which I have witnessed during my childhood. I chose to become a nurse because of the inspiration from my parents.

I have a strong and supportive family, friends and great mentors who have helped me in different ways throughout my journey. I feel so privileged to have been accepted in to the MN-NP program at Dalhousie University to achieve my dreams. I will be graduating next year. I would like to continue to work with geriatric population. I will advocate for more Nurse Practitioner roles in nursing homes and in community and to increase the access for quality health care to meet the growing demands of elderly population.

I am very grateful and proud to be a CNF scholar. I am thankful for the generosity of Extendicare and the Canadian Nurses Foundation. I am truly honoured to be a recipient of the CNF Extendicare Masters in Gerontology Award.

Help Our Nurses

Make a donation to support more nursing research, scholarships and nurses across Canada.

Follow Us

Contact Us

The Canadian Nurses Foundation welcomes all inquiries.

AddressCanadian Nurses Foundation
110 Didsbury Rd, Suite 167
Ottawa, ON K2T 0C2
Canada
Telephone:613-680-0879
Toll Free:1-844-204-0124
Email:info@cnf-fiic.ca
Media:cmcgarvey@cnf-fiic.ca
Skip to content