Award Recipient

Lindsay Smith

Nova Scotia Nurses Scholarship

Je suis honorée d’avoir reçu la bourse des infirmières de la Nouvelle-Écosse de la FIIC. J’ai commencé à travailler dans le secteur de la santé en 2013 en tant que massothérapeute, puis j’ai obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences de la santé à l’Université Thompson Rivers en 2015. Quand la SLA a emporté mon père en 2017, j’ai réalisé que je voulais exercer un rôle plus percutant dans le domaine des soins de santé. C’est pourquoi je me suis inscrite au programme accéléré de sciences infirmières de l’Université Dalhousie, qui m’a permis d’explorer des possibilités comme l’écriture, la recherche et les soins infirmiers périopératoires.

Le monde des soins infirmiers est incroyablement varié et, à l’étape actuelle de mes études, j’aime m’initier à différents domaines et différentes spécialités. Cependant, j’ai toujours voulu enseigner. Les enseignantes infirmières influencent non seulement la vie de leurs étudiantes, mais aussi celle de tous les patients et de leurs proches avec qui ces étudiantes interagissent. À mes yeux, l’enseignement est la forme ultime de la contribution à la profession. Je suis donc motivée à m’appliquer dans mes études et mes stages afin de pouvoir un jour atteindre mon objectif d’être enseignante infirmière.

Je n’aurais pas fait tout ce chemin sans l’appui de ma famille et de mes professeurs. Je remercie particulièrement ma mère Susan, ma fiancée Clarissa, ainsi que mes mentors infirmières Jennifer, Nadine et Andrea.

Help Our Nurses

Make a donation to support more nursing research, scholarships and nurses across Canada.

Follow Us

Contact Us

The Canadian Nurses Foundation welcomes all inquiries.

AddressCanadian Nurses Foundation
110 Didsbury Rd, Suite 167
Ottawa, ON K2T 0C2
Canada
Telephone:613-680-0879
Toll Free:1-844-204-0124
Email:info@cnf-fiic.ca
Media:cmcgarvey@cnf-fiic.ca
Aller au contenu principal

Award Recipient

Lindsay Smith

Nova Scotia Nurses Scholarship

I am honoured to be the recipient of this year’s CNF Nova Scotia Nurses Award. My career in healthcare started in 2013 with my first career as a massage therapist, and I continued my studies in health systems by earning a Bachelor of Health Science from Thompson Rivers University in 2015. However, after my father’s journey with ALS ended in 2017, I realized that I needed to explore a more impactful role in the healthcare field. This motivated me to enroll in Dalhousie’s Accelerated Nursing program, which has enabled me to explore unique opportunities including authorship, research, and perioperative nursing.

The world of nursing is so incredibly varied, and at this point in my schooling I’m enjoying the experience of working in different fields and specialties. However, one career goal of mine has always been consistent – teaching. Educators touch the lives of not only their students, but of every patient and family member that their students go on to interact with. I see education as the ultimate form of contribution, and I’m motivated to work hard in my studies and placements in order to accomplish my goal of being a nurse educator someday.

I’m where I am today because of the support of my family and academic supports. I would specifically like to thank my mother, Susan, my fiancée, Clarissa, and my nursing mentors, Jennifer, Nadine, and Andrea.

Help Our Nurses

Make a donation to support more nursing research, scholarships and nurses across Canada.

Follow Us

Contact Us

The Canadian Nurses Foundation welcomes all inquiries.

AddressCanadian Nurses Foundation
110 Didsbury Rd, Suite 167
Ottawa, ON K2T 0C2
Canada
Telephone:613-680-0879
Toll Free:1-844-204-0124
Email:info@cnf-fiic.ca
Media:cmcgarvey@cnf-fiic.ca
Skip to content