Award Recipient

Myriam Breau

NANB/TD Meloche Monnex Centennial Doctoral Scholarship

Je suis infirmière depuis 17 ans. Je suis devenue infirmière parce que j’ai toujours aimé prendre soin des gens. Je voulais également faire une différence dans la vie des autres.

Après avoir travaillé pendant 15 ans dans une unité de soins intensifs et obtenu ma maîtrise en sciences infirmières, je me suis inscrite au doctorat parce que je désirais améliorer les soins dispensés aux patients. Ma recherche de doctorat vise à comprendre en quoi la réduction du personnel infirmier peut nuire aux patients, notamment au niveau des taux d’infection et de mortalité, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Cette étude à méthode mixte fait appel à d’abondantes données administratives des cinq dernières années (analyse économétrique). Les infirmières étant les gardiennes des soins aux patients, mon étude explore également les pratiques de travail des infirmières (ethnographie). Par une meilleure compréhension du taux d’événements indésirables et du rôle des infirmières dans la prévention et la gestion des préjudices aux patients, j’espère que cette recherche influencera les politiques de sécurité des patients.

Je suis fière de la persévérance dont j’ai fait preuve face aux obstacles qui ont ralenti les progrès de ma recherche de doctorat. Premièrement, la pandémie a fortement allongé le processus de collecte des données. Deuxièmement, l’obtention de données de nombreuses sources hospitalières et gouvernementales s’est avérée complexe et ardue, plusieurs intervenants hésitant souvent à partager leur information. Ces difficultés m’ont donné une plus grande force de caractère.

Je remercie sincèrement la Fondation des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada de m’avoir accordé la bourse de doctorat du centenaire de l’AIINB/TD Meloche Monnex. Je reçois cette bourse prestigieuse avec gratitude et humilité. Cette reconnaissance de mes pairs est importante puisqu’elle signifie que mon travail est utile pour la profession infirmière.

Help Our Nurses

Make a donation to support more nursing research, scholarships and nurses across Canada.

Follow Us

Contact Us

The Canadian Nurses Foundation welcomes all inquiries.

AddressCanadian Nurses Foundation
110 Didsbury Rd, Suite 167
Ottawa, ON K2T 0C2
Canada
Telephone:613-680-0879
Toll Free:1-844-204-0124
Email:info@cnf-fiic.ca
Media:cmcgarvey@cnf-fiic.ca
Aller au contenu principal

Award Recipient

Myriam Breau

NANB/TD Meloche Monnex Centennial Doctoral Scholarship

I have been a nurse for the past 17 years. I became a nurse because, from a young age, I always enjoyed caring for people. I also wanted to make a difference in people’ lives.

After working 15 years in the intensive care unit and obtaining my Master’s of Nursing, I enrolled in a PhD program because I wanted to improve healthcare for patients. My doctoral study is about understanding how the reduction in nurse staffing can impacts patient adverse events, such as infections or mortality in New Brunswick. The mixed method study uses large administrative data from the last five years (econometric analysis). Because nurses safeguard patient care, the study also explores the nursing work practice (ethnography). By better understanding the rate of adverse events, and the role of nurses in preventing and managing patient harm, the results will hopefully shape patient safety policies.

I am most proud of my perseverance facing a number of barriers which slowed the progress of my doctoral work. Initially, the pandemic had big impact on prolonging data collection. Secondly, retrieving data from several sources within both hospitals systems and the provincial government proved to be both complex and challenging, as multiple stakeholders were often hesitant to share data. My perseverance has provided me with a greater strength of character.

I sincerely thank the Canadian Nurse Foundation for the NANB/TD Meloche Monnex Centennial Doctoral Scholarship. I am grateful and humbled by receiving such a prestigious award. Being recognized by my peers is meaningful because its means that my work is valuable for the nursing profession.

Help Our Nurses

Make a donation to support more nursing research, scholarships and nurses across Canada.

Follow Us

Contact Us

The Canadian Nurses Foundation welcomes all inquiries.

AddressCanadian Nurses Foundation
110 Didsbury Rd, Suite 167
Ottawa, ON K2T 0C2
Canada
Telephone:613-680-0879
Toll Free:1-844-204-0124
Email:info@cnf-fiic.ca
Media:cmcgarvey@cnf-fiic.ca
Skip to content