Award Recipient

Sarah McLeod

Frances Mary Stoddart Award

Je reçois avec honneur et gratitude la bourse Frances Mary Stoddart de la Fondation des infirmières et infirmiers u Canada. Merci à la FIIC et à ses donateurs. Ce soutien financier sera précieux alors que j’entre en dernière année de baccalauréat en sciences infirmières à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique à Vancouver.

Je songeais depuis longtemps à travailler dans le domaine de la santé. Mes réflexions, mes études de baccalauréat en psychologie et mon bénévolat à l’OMRM, au BC Women’s and Children’s Hospital et au service AMS Vice de l’université m’ont orientée vers la profession infirmière. Étant enfant unique, j’aidais souvent ma mère qui souffrait de maladies chroniques.  C’est là que j’ai développé le goût d’aider les autres. Durant mon bénévolat, j’ai vu les infirmières travailler avec les patients et leur famille et compris qu’en plus de soigner, elles jouaient un rôle d’éducatrices et de défenseures des droits des patients. Un cours optionnel de sciences infirmières que j’ai suivi durant mes études de baccalauréat a renforcé mon intérêt pour cette profession, et particulièrement pour la santé publique et la santé reproductive.

J’ai apprécié la diversité des expériences et l’autonomie que m’a apportées mon stage clinique en santé communautaire. Je rêve de travailler dans une clinique jeunesse ou d’être infirmière en santé publique. Je me passionne pour la santé des femmes, les questions sociales, le plaidoyer et la sensibilisation et j’aime échanger avec des jeunes. Dans la poursuite de cet objectif, j’entends également obtenir ma certification en santé reproductive au BCIT.

Help Our Nurses

Make a donation to support more nursing research, scholarships and nurses across Canada.

Follow Us

Contact Us

The Canadian Nurses Foundation welcomes all inquiries.

AddressCanadian Nurses Foundation
110 Didsbury Rd, Suite 167
Ottawa, ON K2T 0C2
Canada
Telephone:613-680-0879
Toll Free:1-844-204-0124
Email:info@cnf-fiic.ca
Media:cmcgarvey@cnf-fiic.ca
Aller au contenu principal

Award Recipient

Sarah McLeod

Frances Mary Stoddart Award

I am very thankful and honoured to receive the Canadian Nurses Foundation Frances Mary Stoddart Award. Thank you to the CNF and to its donors. The funds from this scholarship will help me financially as I enter my final year of the BSN program at The University of British Columbia, Vancouver.

For many years I aspired to pursue a career in health care. Through reflection, my studies during my bachelor’s degree in psychology and my volunteer work at RMHC, BC Women’s and Children’s Hospital and UBC’s AMS Vice, I decided that nursing was the best career path for me. Growing up as an only child, I often found myself supporting my mother with her chronic conditions. This was where my love of helping others blossomed. During my volunteer work, I observed nurses working with patients and their families and learned that nurses are not only caregivers, but teachers and advocates. Finally, an open nursing course during my undergrad confirmed my interest and sparked my passion for both public and reproductive health.

I loved the diversity of care and autonomy my clinical placement in community health brought. My future dream job would involve working as a registered nurse at a youth clinic or as a Public Health Nurse. I am passionate about women’s health, social issues, advocacy and outreach and I enjoy engaging with young people. To further this goal, I also intend to earn my Reproductive Health Certification at BCIT.

Help Our Nurses

Make a donation to support more nursing research, scholarships and nurses across Canada.

Follow Us

Contact Us

The Canadian Nurses Foundation welcomes all inquiries.

AddressCanadian Nurses Foundation
110 Didsbury Rd, Suite 167
Ottawa, ON K2T 0C2
Canada
Telephone:613-680-0879
Toll Free:1-844-204-0124
Email:info@cnf-fiic.ca
Media:cmcgarvey@cnf-fiic.ca
Skip to content