Award Recipient

Faria Ahmed

Taggart Parkes Foundation Nursing Award

Je suis arrivée à la profession infirmière par un cheminement atypique. J’avais fait mon baccalauréat en biotechnologie et ma maîtrise en immunologie virale quand j’ai décidé de devenir infirmière. Ma passion pour la recherche était intacte, mais je voulais prendre soin directement des patients.

Le programme de sciences infirmières m’a permis d’explorer différents domaines de spécialisation, depuis les soins aux aînés atteints d’Alzheimer jusqu’à ceux des nouveau-nés souffrant d’anomalies congénitales. J’ai pu intérioriser la dimension humaine des soins de santé. Sans que je m’en rende compte, le fait de m’occuper de patients m’a transformée.

Quand la pandémie de COVID-19 a frappé, je travaillais auprès des personnes les plus vulnérables du pays dans une résidence avec services de soutien. Durant l’été 2020, j’ai œuvré au sein du groupe de travail sur la décontamination des EPP au Conseil national de recherches. Durant l’été 2021, j’ai commencé à travailler comme assistante de recherche clinique; à ce titre j’étudie l’immunité à long terme procurée par divers protocoles de vaccination et j’observe les conséquences sociales du virus SARS-CoV-2 dans les universités canadiennes.

J’espère devenir un jour infirmière praticienne en pédiatrie et diriger des recherches dans ce domaine. En soignant des patients et en menant des recherches dans la même spécialité, je m’efforcerai d’être une chercheure infirmière clinicienne qui œuvre avec objectivité et compassion dans le respect de l’éthique.

Help Our Nurses

Make a donation to support more nursing research, scholarships and nurses across Canada.

Follow Us

Nous contacter

La Fondation des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada accueille toutes les demandes de renseignements.
AdresseCanadian Nurses Foundation
135 Michael Cowpland Drive
Suite 105, Kanata, ON K2M 2E9
Canada
Telephone:613-680-0879
Toll-Free:1-844-204-0124
Email:info@cnf-fiic.ca
Media:cmcgarvey@cnf-fiic.ca
Aller au contenu principal

Award Recipient

Faria Ahmed

Taggart Parkes Foundation Nursing Award

My journey into nursing was rather unconventional. I had completed my Bachelor’s in Biotechnology, and Master’s in Viral Immunology when I decided I wanted to be a nurse. While my passion for research remained intact, I knew I belonged on the frontlines, caring for patients firsthand.

Through the rigorous nursing program, I explored various nursing specialties. From caring for elderly patients living with Alzheimer’s, to caring for newborns with congenital anomalies, I was able to internalize the human side of healthcare. Without realizing it, caring for patients completely transformed me as a person.

When the COVID-19 Pandemic began, I worked at an assisted living facility, caring for the most vulnerable populations of our country. In the summer of 2020, I worked for the COVID-19 Task Force on PPE decontamination at the National Research Council. Later in summer 2021, I began work as a Clinical Research Assistant, studying long-term immunity of various vaccine regimens and observing the social implications of SARS-CoV-2 across Canadian universities.

Someday, I hope to become a Paediatric Nurse Practitioner and lead research in the same field. By being involved in patient care and conducting research in the same specialty, I strive to become an objective, compassionate, and ethical clinical nurse researcher.

Help Our Nurses

Make a donation to support more nursing research, scholarships and nurses across Canada.

Follow Us

Contact Us

The Canadian Nurses Foundation welcomes all inquiries.

AddressCanadian Nurses Foundation
110 Didsbury Rd, Suite 167
Ottawa, ON K2T 0C2
Canada
Telephone:613-680-0879
Toll Free:1-844-204-0124
Email:info@cnf-fiic.ca
Media:cmcgarvey@cnf-fiic.ca
Skip to content